Who took out top honours?


Netball star Giselle Taylor has beaten out a field of outstanding junior athletes from around the region to take out top honours at the South West Academy of Sport’s annual awards night.

The sharpshooter was crowned Sports Star of the Year in front of a crowd at the Bunbury Regional Entertainment Centre on Friday November 8.

It has been a year marked with achievements for the teenager who made her debut for the Western Sting while continuing to compete for the ECU Souwest Jets and juggle Year 12 studies.

The gala ceremony saw promising young sports men and women as well as supporters converge inside the Cube Theatre to see who would be presented with this year’s coveted titles.

Award winners included Jeremy Barraclough who was named Wally Foreman Coach of the Year, and netball starlet Brooke Repacholi who was announced Emerging Star.

Hockey young gun Indee Elphick picked up both the Community Achiever and Team Male Athlete awards, while hockey talent Ella du Preez walked away as the Team Female Athlete of the Year.

Surfers Emma Cattlin and Seth Vanhaeften each won awards, with Cattlin securing Individual Female Athlete and Vanhaeften earning Individual Male Athlete.

SWAS chief executive officer Bernice Butlion, who was honoured on the night for her outstanding service, congratulated all award winners.

“The quality of our award winners – and our athletes in general – is testament to the deep pool of talent in the South West, along with the high-level of support offered here in the region,” Butlion said.

“The award winners have made us proud and we wish them well as they continue to pursue sporting careers.”

The glittering red carpet event also saw former SWAS athlete, now Kookaburra Jake Harvie take to the stage as the night’s best speaker. Sport and Recreation Minister Mick Murray also addressed the audience.

The event was made possible by a number of sponsors including The Apprentice and Traineeship Company, Hexion Australia, Summit Realty South West, Nexus Risk Services, RCR Mining Technologies, Onsite Rental Group, The Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries, Intersport Bunbury and Lomax Media.


2019 SWAS Award Winners:

Sports Star of the Year – Giselle Taylor (Netball)

Wally Foreman Coach of the Year – Jeremy Barraclough (Australian Rules Football)

Community Achiever of the Year – Indee Elphick (Hockey)

Emerging Star of the Year – Brooke Repacholi (Netball)

Team Female Athlete of the Year – Ella du Preez (Hockey)

Team Male Athlete of the Year – Indee Elphick (Hockey)

Individual Female Athlete of the Year – Emma Cattlin (Surfing)

Individual Male Athlete of the Year – Seth Vanhaeften (Surfing)