More than 280 race around the Inlet

Regardless of the order in which they crossed the finish line, every person who competed in the SWAS Telstra Fun Run over the weekend can boast they helped to set a new record.

The annual race around Bunbury’s Leschenault Inlet this year attracted its biggest field of entries, with more than 280 walkers and runners rising early and pounding the pavement on Saturday March 17.

SWAS chief executive officer Bernice Butlion said this year’s event was the biggest and best yet, with opportunities for people of all ages and abilities to take part.

“The introduction of the two kilometre junior event attracted a lot of interest among primary school students,” she said.

“Parents could run with their kids – a lot of whom had never done a fun run.”

Butlion thanked everyone who made the event another success, including participants, volunteers and sponsors.

The fourth SWAS Telstra Fun Run was possible by major sponsors Telstra and the Chefs Long Table Lunch.

Funds raised from the event will support the not-for-profit organisation’s programs.

SWAS aims to nurture the development of aspiring athletes in the region by providing them with access to talent development opportunities and support services such as physiotherapy, sports psychology and nutrition.


2018 SWAS Telstra Fun Run Results


10km Run


Senior Men

1                              Darren Coram

2                              Nick Vane

3                              Mark Langerman


Senior Women

1                              Cantale Paoliello

2                              Mel Valli

3                              Sarah Hindley



1                              Noah Moores (also first overall)


5km Run


Senior Male

1                              Zeke Tinley

2                              Jason Reeve

3                              Gary Butlion


Senior Female

1                              Jodie Fisher

2                              Cassie Glover

3                              Sally Barrett


Junior Male

1                              Jacob van Noort

2                              Indee Elphick

3                              Zahn Nitarski-Bell


Junior Female   

1                              Kate Lockley

2                              Courtney Butlion

3                              Layla Brown


5km Walk

1 Male                  Garry Hastie

1 Female              Sally-Anne Bell


1 Junior                Cooper Anderton

2km Junior Run


1              Taj Allan

2              Neil Phillips

3              Chevy Morris



1              Brooke George

2              Charlotte Kampen

3              Chloe Blake


School Prize

St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School