West Coast recruit Isiah Winder was named Sports Star of the Year

History was made at the South West Academy of Sport’s annual awards when West Coast recruit Isiah Winder was named Sports Star of the Year.

The Eaton-product, who was in the SWAS high performance football program in the lead-up to being drafted to the Eagles last year, is the first Indigenous winner of the coveted prize.

Winder said he was humbled to receive the award, considering some of the amazing previous winners.

“The support I received from everyone at the South West Academy of Sport has helped me to get me to where I am today,” Winder said.

Also earning a place in the record books at the red-carpet event was Cory Crombie, who became the first para athlete to take home a SWAS award, winning the Community Achiever award.

The young sporting heroes were among an outstanding field of up-and-comers recognised for their achievements in front of a crowd at the Bunbury Regional Entertainment Centre’s Cube Theatre on Friday February 12.

The calibre of athletes vying for awards was so strong this year that runner-up prizes were introduced across the general category awards.

Each year, the awards shine a spotlight on the best in junior sport in the South West.

SWAS chief executive officer Bernice Butlion described this year’s event as the best one yet, with Olympian and former professional basketballer Mark Worthington’s keynote address among the many highlights.

“This is our pinnacle event celebrating the achievements and hard work of athletes and coaches, and everyone was really impressed that we also had a runner-up award,” Butlion said.

 The event was made possible by a number of sponsors including The Apprentice and Traineeship Company, Hexion Australia, Summit Realty South West, Nexus Risk Services, RCR Mining Technologies, Onsite Rental Group, The Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries, Intersport Bunbury and Lomax Media.


2020 SWAS Awards Winners:

Emerging Star

Runner-up: Jordan Smithall (hockey)

Winner: Belle Ramshaw (hockey)

Team Female Athlete

Runner-up: Brooke Gibson (netball)

Winner: Ella du Preez (hockey)

Team Male Athlete

Runner-up: Tyler King (cricket)

 Winner: Isiah Winder (Australian Rules football)

Individual Female

Runner-up: Serena Nandapi (surf life-saving)

Winner: Emma Cattlin (surfing)

Individual Male

Runner-up: Kyle Lee (swimming)

Winner: Jaxon Sawyer (downhill MTB)

Community Achiever

Winner: Cory Crombie (para athletics)

Wally Foreman Coach of the Year

Winner: Nicole Arrold (hockey)

Sports Star of the Year Award

Runner-up: Jaxon Sawyer (downhill MTB)

Winner: Isiah Winder (Australian Rules football)